Covered Spotlight: Gregory Douglass

With the completion of our ‘”Uncovered’ Uncovered” discussion–concerning the piano/vocal “undressing” of October Project songsit is time to open up the musical wardrobe and play dress-up. Over the next few weeks, we will feature interviews with artists from the “October Project: Covered” album, on which some of OP’s favorite artists and dearest friends custom tailored their own take on an October Project song.

This week, we feature Gregory Douglass, longtime OP friend.

–J.W. Harvey

Covered Spotlight: Gregory Douglass

Why did you choose the song that you covered? What does it mean to you?

“A Lonely Voice” guided some of my most formative years as a young adult and aspiring singer/songwriter. It was an anthem for my own personal reflections and

Gregory Douglass, Live at the Loft with October Project

discoveries. I was thrilled to have the unique opportunity to perform this song live at the Tin Angel in Philadelphia with October Project.

How did you arrange the song to make it your own, fresh song?

I suppose it was having the chance to sing the lead vocal behind a classic rendition of the song, lead by October Project themselves. I had the opportunity to give it the song a bit of my own vocal interpretation along side Marina Belica and Julie Flanders beautiful harmonies.

What are you doing now?

I’m a full-time singer/songwriter operating at an independent level. I’ve released eight critically acclaimed studio albums of original material under my own “Emote Records” label. My recent spotlight on NPR’s “Morning Edition” coined me “one of New England’s best-kept secrets.” I’ve shared the stage with artists like They Might Be Giants, Shawn Colvin, The Weepies, Jason Mraz, Regina Spektor and I’ve been touring in support of my latest release, LUCID, a dream-themed concept album.

Who or what are your current inspirations?

I’m inspired by everything around me but I’m particularly drawn to cooking, Italian wine and the Masterpiece Classic series, “Downton Abbey” at the moment. Musically speaking, I can’t get enough of Melody Gardot, Jesca Hoop, Gotye and french singer, Zaz right now!

Who would play you in the ideal movie version of your life, and what would the title of that movie be?

Barring his acting credentials, fashion designer Tom Ford would be an impeccable fit. It would likely be a story depicting the life and times of an Edith Piaf reincarnate titled, “I Can Never Go Back” 🙂

More information on Gregory Douglass:
Homepage
Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Follow the October Process blog for more interviews with featured Covered artists!

Learn more about CoveredOP Merchandise Store
OP on FaceBook: facebook.com/octoberproject
OP on Twitter: twitter.com/october_project

J.W. Harvey on Twitter: twitter.com/xjwharvey
Contact J.W. Harvey: James@OctoberProjectMusic.com

J.W. Harvey

About octoberprojectmusic

Julie Flanders Marina Belica Emil Adler
This entry was posted in Music, New Release, October Project, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

